Department of Local Government (NWP) is consists of one Municipal Council established by the Municipal Council Ordinance No. 16 of 1947, 03 Urban Councils established by the Urban Council Ordinance No. 61 of 1939 and 29 Pradeshiya Sabhas established by the Pradeshiya Sabha Act No. 15 of 1987.


Good Governance that provides equal opportunities for all communities in the North Western Province


Facilitate to empower the participatory and democratic development process of local authorities to improve the quality of life of people of NWP by providing needed resources legal advice, policy guidance, monitoring and coordination support.

Organization Structure

  • Administration Section
  • Account Section
  • Development Section
  • Technical Section
  • Investigation Section